top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarina

The Chakras

Updated: Sep 23, 2019

Lets begin with the meaning of the word “Chakra”; a Sanskrit word which means both a wheel and a circular motion. Chakras as we know them today are not a new concept or “New Age” as some would believe. They were first mentioned in the Rigveda which is one of the four Vedas in the Hindu tradition. The Vedas documented rites and rituals which were passed down orally until then. There has been much debate (as a quick google search will tell you) on whether the Rigveda makes any mention of the Chakras or not. I am not here to make any assertions regarding either side of the debate and either way is probably a debate of each interpretation. You see, the Vedic age initially passed knowledge down orally and then proceeded to document the oral traditions in the abstract. Hence, your guess is as good as mine!

However as we are creatures of absolutes we can thank the Upanishads for coming to our rescue. There is a definitive mention and description of Chakras in the Brahma Upanishad and Yoga Upanishad. Chakras have also found mention in Vedic period documents called the Sutras (also shared by the Buddhist traditions) which are similar in nature to Upanishads in that they are short independent pieces of literature. The Chakras have also found mention in a 10th century text called Goraksha Samhita which provides details on the process of meditating on the Chakras and in two Tantric texts (Sat-Cakra-Nirupana and Padaka Pancaka).

So now that you are well equipped with the history of these it begs the question – what’s the fuss all about and why do we need them? The Chakras, whether you believe in the primary 7 or the exhaustive list of 99, are energy centers in the body where the ‘Nadis’ or Energy Channels of the body are known to converge. Hindu spiritual beliefs state that an energy body overlays the physical human body where the Nadis and Chakras exist. The well-being of the physical body is largely dependent on the well-being of the energy body and hence why all kinds of Yoga and Gemstones/Crystal healing make multiple references to the Chakras.

Let’s take some time to look at Yoga and Gemstones/Crystals to understand the connection with the Chakras.........

Yoga means to unite, the union being of the mind, body and soul and is a combination of:

- Poses to hold the body

- Breathing techniques

- Meditation

- Lifestyle changes

When followed correctly, all of these contribute to a healthy functioning of the Chakras by optimising the flow of energy through the Nadis and keeping the Chakras balanced. Within the ‘Meditation’ component is where Healing Gesmtones/Crystals come in. Gemstones increase the effectiveness of the Meditation process and help with healing the energy body. Each chakra is associated with certain Gemstones and incorporating those in your meditative process or even day to day life delivers tangible benefits. There are claims about Gemstones healing the physical body as well however that is only to be considered in addition to medical advice and never to be treated as a substitute.

Gemstones can be used in isolation as individual stones or worn in various forms of jewellery as necklaces, bracelets, rings, anklets etc. At Raziel we offer a wide variety of organic untreated Gemstones in various forms which can be worn cosmetically or infused with energy and purpose to help you towards a desired outcome.

So go ahead and take look at our wide selection and we would love to hear from you if you have any questions!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page